For the purposes of Regional Partnership Boards the Welsh Government has divided Wales into seven regions based on the footprint of Wales' Health Boards. Powys is unique because the local council footprint is the same as Powys Teaching Health Board, so Powys is considered a region in itself.

This has benefits and challenges. The benefits are that the level of negotiation and consensus is much simpler; the challenge is that the number of people to draw on is less and often the same people sit on a number of partnership fora.

Although the Regional Partnership Board sets the direction for joint work on health and care in Powys and takes the big decisions about that work, it also has subsidiary partnerships which involve a much wider group of people and organisations in the work done to deliver the Board’s objectives and priorities.

Members of the Regional Partnership Board (2019-20):

Ali Bulman - Director of Social Services, Powys County Council

Alison Davies - Director of Nursing and Midwifery, Powys Teaching Health Board

Carl Cooper - Chief Executive of Powys Association of Voluntary Organisations (PAVO) (Vice-Chair)

Carol Shillabeer - Chief Executive of Powys Teaching Health Board (Chair)

Cllr Rachel Powell - Cabinet Member for Children’s Services, Powys County Council

Cllr Rosemarie Harris - Leader of Powys County Council

Cllr Myfanwy Alexander - Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care, Powys County Council

Hayley Thomas - Director of Planning, Powys Teaching Health Board

Jamie Marchant - Executive Director of Primary, Community and Mental Health, Powys Teaching Health Board

Jean Carter (Carer) - Representative for Carers 

John Buchan - Representative for people with needs for care and support

Julie Gillbanks - Action for Children representative

Julie Rowles - Directors of Workforce and OD, Powys Teaching Health Board

Maggie Simms – Representative for people with needs for care and support

Melanie Davies - Powys Teaching Health Board Representative

Melanie Minty - Care Forum Wales Representative

Ness Young - Corporate Director of Resources and Transformation, Powys County Council

Owen Judd (Carer) - Representative for Carers

Stuart Bourne - Director of Public Health Wales